Description
Mozilla Firefox 1.5.0.1, and possibly other versions, preserves some records of user activity even after uninstalling, which allows local users who share a Windows profile to view the records after a new installation of Firefox, as reported for the list of Passwords Never Saved web sites. NOTE: The vendor has disputed this issue, stating that "The uninstaller is primarily there to uninstall the application. It is not there to uninstall user data. For the moment I will stick by my module-owner decision.
References
- 20060415 Re: Firefox 1.5.0.1 Password Manager Arbtirary User Browsing History Disclosure mailing-list
- https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=330884
- 20060413 Firefox 1.5.0.1 Password Manager Arbtirary User Browsing History Disclosure mailing-list
- https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=234680