Description
After user deletion in MongoDB Server the improper invalidation of authorization sessions allows an authenticated user's session to persist and become conflated with new accounts, if those accounts reuse the names of deleted ones. This issue affects MongoDB Server v4.0 versions prior to 4.0.9; MongoDB Server v3.6 versions prior to 3.6.13 and MongoDB Server v3.4 versions prior to 3.4.22.
Workaround:
After deleting one or more users, restart any nodes which may have had active user authorization sessions.
Refrain from creating user accounts with the same name as previously deleted accounts.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected | Fixed |
|---|---|---|---|
| MongoDB | MongoDB Server | 4.0 – < 4.0.9, 3.6 – < 3.6.13, 3.4 – < 3.4.22 | 4.0.9 |
Fixed in Linux distributions
Distributions backport fixes, so the version that fixes this vulnerability differs per release — upgrade to at least the version shown. From the distributions' security trackers and advisories.
Ubuntu
Security tracker ↗| Release | Package | Fixed in | Advisory |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubuntu 20.04 LTS | mongodb | 1:3.6.9+really3.6.8+90~g8e540c0b6d-0ubuntu5.2 | USN-5052-1 |
| Ubuntu 18.04 LTS | mongodb | 1:3.6.3-0ubuntu1.3 | USN-5052-1 |
Show 2 more (older releases, extended support, other products)Fewer releases
| Release | Package | Fixed in | Advisory |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubuntu Pro 16.04 LTS | mongodb | No fix yet | — |
| Ubuntu Pro 14.04 LTS | mongodb | No fix yet | — |
Advisories 1
- USN-5052-1 mongodb vulnerability Ubuntu Security Notices (USN) · Apr 27, 2026